Pike 27 opens for The Fauntleroys at the Taft Ballroom (10-03-14)

Pike 27 opens for The Fauntleroys at the Taft Ballroom (10-03-14)

“Pike 27 plays rock and roll: jangly, smart, sometimes noisy, usually joyful, always passionate. RIYL REM, Alejandro Escovedo, and Elvis Costello in all of their genre-crossing forms.” — Cincinnati CityBeat

“Melodic rockers brilliantly capture the spirit of Elvis Costello on their first full-length release in over 15 years.” — Cincinnati CityBeat

“Then, in 2014 Calling Out, with its catchy pop melodies and infectious rhythms, solidified their reputation as one of the best live acts in the area. Now, Pike 27 has re-re-invented itself with the issue of their latest album The Long Fight. The 10 tracks on this album showcase new arrangements in personnel, collaborations with great local talent and deeper explorations in personal expression and social commentary.” — Jim Nolan, WVXU

Pike 27 was a mainstay of the Cincinnati music scene from 2000-2007, releasing the critically acclaimed Falling Down Hard, winning a CAMMY for Best Roots Rock Band, establishing a reputation as one of the best live acts in the area, opening for national acts (including Chuck Prophet, Dave Alvin, Robbie Fulks, Jason Ringenberg, Vigilantes of Love, and Tim Easton), and touring regionally. The band went on hiatus went lead singer/songwriter, Dave Purcell, moved away to be a sociology professor at Kent State University.

In summer 2013, Purcell returned home, put together a new lineup, and picked up right where the former version left off, debuting in front of a packed MOTR Pub house while opening for Sarah Lee Guthrie and Johnny Irion. Since then, Pike 27 released the five-song EP, Calling Out to positive reviews and regional airplay, and continued to build the band’s live reputation (the photo above captures the band at Taft Theater, opening for Alejandro Escovedo’s latest project, The Fauntleroys).

The band new full-length, The Long Fight, was released in November 2017 just as the band shifted lineups again, with Purcell moving to drums and vocals and acclaimed singer/songwriter Dan Mecher (Turnbull ACs, Denial) joining as the new lead singer.

Pike 27 is:

  • Mike Fair: lead and rhythm guitars, keyboards
  • Dan Mecher: lead vox, guitar
  • Sean Rhiney: bass, backing vox
  • Dave Purcell: drums, occasional lead vox

Extended family and occasional guests:

  • Chris Comer: keyboards
  • Dave Killen: percussion, stringed instruments, backing vox
  • Chris Mueller: drums
  • Scott Risner: mandolin
  • Chuck Wiggins: accordion

Former members:

  • George Cunningham: lead guitar
  • Tommy Huesman: drums
  • Mark Messerly: utility player, backing vox
  • Adam Renchen: drums, backing vox
  • Bobby Sheets: lead guitar, backing vox
  • Jon Weisberger: bass, backing vox